
Most “best treadmill” lists are a pile of $2,000 machines. This one isn’t. I picked seven treadmills on Amazon, from about $330 to about $2,000, for walkers, runners, heavier users, and small spaces. As a certified personal trainer, I chose them the way I’d help a client: the right machine for how you’ll actually use it, at a price that makes sense.
Quick picks: Best Treadmill on Amazon
| # | Treadmill | Best for | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Horizon 7.0 AT | Best overall for most people | Check Price → |
| 2 | NordicTrack T Series 5 | Best budget treadmill | Check Price → |
| 3 | Sunny Health & Fitness SF-T723030 | Best no-assembly, folding treadmill | Check Price → |
| 4 | Wellfit TM029 | Highest capacity under $1,000 (walking) | Check Price → |
| 5 | Horizon 7.4 AT | Best for runners, no subscription | Check Price → |
| 6 | NordicTrack Commercial 1750 | Best smart treadmill | Check Price → |
| 7 | MERACH UltraWalk W60 | Best for small spaces (walking pad) | Check Price → |
Watch: Best Treadmill on Amazon
Side-by-side specs
| Category | Horizon 7.0 AT | NordicTrack T Series 5 | Sunny SF-T723030 | Wellfit TM029 | Horizon 7.4 AT | NordicTrack 1750 | MERACH W60 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Top speed | 12 mph | 10 mph | 10 mph | 10 mph | 12 mph | 12 mph | 4 mph |
| Incline | 0–15% | 0–10% | 0–15% auto | 0–15% auto | 0–15% | –3% to 12% | 0–12% auto |
| Deck / belt | 20″ x 60″ | 18″ x 55″ | ~20″ x 53″ | 20″ x 50″ | 22″ x 60″ | 22″ x 60″ | ~16″ x 41″ |
| Max user | 325 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 500 lb (rated) | 350 lb | 400 lb | 400 lb |
| Motor | 3.0 CHP | 2.6 HP (max, as listed) | 2.5 HP brushless (as listed) | 5.0 HP peak, brushless | 3.5 CHP | 4.25 CHP | 3.5 HP peak / 1.25 CHP, brushless |
| Cushioning | 3-zone variable response | KeyFlex | Not specified | Shock-absorber system | 3-zone variable response | RunFlex | Not specified |
| Console | LCD + tablet holder | 5″ LCD | LCD + device holder | LED display | LCD + tablet holder | 16″ HD touchscreen (pivots) | LED display |
| Folds | Yes | No (compact) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Slides under furniture |
| Subscription | Optional apps | 1 mo iFIT Train included, auto-renews | No | No | Optional apps | iFIT Pro for smart features | No |
| Warranty | Lifetime frame & motor, 3 yr parts, 1 yr labor | 10 yr frame, 1 yr motor, parts & labor | 3 yr frame, 180 days other parts | 3 yr frame, 180 days other parts | Lifetime frame & motor, 5 yr parts, 2 yr labor | Lifetime motor, 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts, 1 yr labor | 2 yr all parts |
| Check Price | Check Price → | Check Price → | Check Price → | Check Price → | Check Price → | Check Price → | Check Price → |
Specs and warranty terms from the manufacturer and Amazon listings at the time of writing.
How I picked these
Every pick was checked on four things: the motor, the deck size, the weight capacity, and the warranty, plus what it really costs once you add any subscription. I also looked at owner feedback and at what each machine is honestly good for. A walking pad is a great buy for daily steps but a poor running treadmill, and I say so.
1. Horizon 7.0 AT: Best overall
Best for: most people, from walkers to regular runners.

For most people, this is the one. The Horizon 7.0 AT goes up to 12 mph and 15% incline on a 20″ x 60″ deck, enough room for a full running stride. It’s rated for 325 lb, and its Rapid Sync motor changes speed and incline quickly, which makes intervals feel smooth.
There’s no subscription required. If you want classes, it connects to apps like Peloton (App+ membership required) and Zwift, and syncs with Apple and Samsung watches. The warranty is lifetime on the frame and motor, 3 years on parts, and 1 year on labor.
Skip it if: you want a built-in touchscreen. In that case, look at the NordicTrack 1750 (#6), keeping its iFIT cost in mind.
Why I picked it: it’s the sweet spot — enough treadmill for real running, without paying for features you won’t use.
2. NordicTrack T Series 5: Best budget treadmill
Best for: walking and jogging on a budget.

If you want a real treadmill for around $600, this is it. The T Series 5 goes up to 10 mph and 10% incline, it’s rated for 300 lb, and its KeyFlex cushioning softens each step. It’s compact rather than folding, so it tucks into a corner and stays set up — which, honestly, helps you use it more.
It comes with one month of iFIT Train, which auto-renews, so cancel in time if you don’t want it. Without it, you still get the full speed and incline range on the built-in controls. The warranty is 10 years on the frame, and 1 year on the motor, parts, and labor.
Skip it if: you’ll run fast and often. Its 18″ x 55″ deck is fine for walking and jogging, but runners should step up to a 60″-long deck like the Horizon 7.0 AT (#1).
3. Sunny Health & Fitness SF-T723030: Best no-assembly treadmill
Best for: renters, small apartments, anyone who hates assembly.

This one arrives fully assembled: take it out of the box, unfold it, and start walking. It has a quiet brushless motor, speeds up to 10 mph, up to 15% automatic incline, and a 300 lb capacity, and it folds away when you’re done.
The warranty is 3 years on the frame and 180 days on other parts and components — shorter than the Horizons, which is part of why it costs less. The deck is about 53″ long: great for walking and jogging, not for long running strides.
Sunny vs. T Series 5: the extra ~$100 gets you no assembly, folding, and more incline; the T Series 5 gets you a 10-year frame warranty.
4. Wellfit TM029: Highest capacity under $1,000
Best for: heavier users who mainly walk, incline walk, or hike at home.

Wellfit rates this treadmill for 500 lb — the highest rating I found under $1,000. It has 15% automatic incline, speeds up to 10 mph, a brushless motor rated at 5 HP peak, and it folds for storage.
Be realistic about what that number means. It’s a lightweight folding frame, “peak” horsepower isn’t the same as the continuous rating on bigger treadmills (see the explainer below), and the 20″ x 50″ deck is short for running. The warranty is 3 years on the frame and 180 days on other parts.
Skip it if: you’re a heavier runner. Step up to the Horizon 7.4 AT (#5, rated 350 lb, best for runners up to about 325 lb) or the NordicTrack 1750 (#6, rated 400 lb, best for runners up to about 375 lb).
5. Horizon 7.4 AT: Best for runners (no subscription)
Best for: serious runners who don’t want a monthly fee.

It gives you a wide 22″ x 60″ deck, a 3.5 continuous-horsepower motor, speeds up to 12 mph, and 15% incline. Its Rapid Sync drive changes speed and incline fast, and it’s rated for 350 lb.
The warranty is excellent: lifetime on the frame and motor, 5 years on parts, and 2 years on labor. Like the 7.0 AT, it works with apps like Zwift if you want them.
Step up from the 7.0 AT if: you run fast and often, or you weigh more than about 300 lb (the 7.0 AT is rated for 325 lb). The wider 22″ deck, stronger motor, and extra capacity make the difference.
Skip it if: you want a touchscreen, or you’re short on space. It’s big and heavy, so measure first.
6. NordicTrack Commercial 1750: Best smart treadmill
Best for: people who love guided classes, and heavier runners up to about 375 lb (it’s rated for 400 lb).

This is the full smart-treadmill experience. The 16″ HD touchscreen pivots, and with iFIT, trainers automatically change your speed, incline, and even decline during classes. It goes from 3% decline to 12% incline, has a 22″ x 60″ deck, and is rated for 400 lb.
Factor in the real cost, though. iFIT Pro is $39 a month (about $1,400 over three years), and you need a free iFIT account and Wi-Fi to run the treadmill at all. If guided classes keep you consistent, it’s worth it. If not, the Horizon 7.4 AT gives you the same deck size without the monthly bill.
7. MERACH UltraWalk W60: Best for small spaces
Best for: walking under a desk or in a small apartment.

If you mostly want to walk, you don’t need a full treadmill. The UltraWalk W60 is a walking pad with up to 12% automatic incline, speeds from 0.6 to 4 mph, a 400 lb capacity, and a quiet brushless motor. It slides under a bed or couch when you’re done.
To be clear, this is a walking pad, not a running treadmill: its 4 mph top speed and 41″ belt are made for walking. It’s also a new model, so long-term feedback is still building, though it comes with a 2-year warranty on all parts and components.
Skip it if: you want to jog or run. Start at the T Series 5 (#2) instead.
Honorable mentions
If you’re also looking at Sole, its new Sole F63 and Sole F80 have quieter brushless motors and need no subscription. I’ve compared both head-to-head: Sole F63 vs Horizon 7.0 AT and Sole F80 vs NordicTrack 1750.
How to choose: find yours by budget

- Under $400, walking only: MERACH UltraWalk W60
- Under $700: NordicTrack T Series 5, or the Sunny if you don’t want to assemble anything
- Around $1,000: the Wellfit TM029 if you’ll walk and need more capacity, or the Horizon 7.0 AT if you’ll run
- $1,500 and up: the Horizon 7.4 AT for running with no subscription, or the NordicTrack 1750 for classes
What matters most when buying a treadmill
Deck size
For walking, a 50″–55″ deck is usually enough. For running, especially at faster speeds, look for a 60″-long deck; 22″ wide gives you extra room to drift side to side. In this list, the Horizon 7.4 AT and NordicTrack 1750 have 22″ x 60″ decks, and the Horizon 7.0 AT has 20″ x 60″.
Weight capacity
Choose a treadmill rated comfortably above your weight, especially if you run, since every stride hits the deck with more than your body weight. If you run and weigh up to about 325 lb, the Horizon 7.4 AT (rated for 350 lb) gives you real headroom. Between about 325 and 375 lb, the NordicTrack 1750’s 400 lb rating is the safer choice. The Wellfit’s 500 lb rating is high, but it’s a lightweight folding frame best used for walking.
Peak vs. continuous horsepower

Every motor has two ratings. Peak horsepower is a brief burst the motor can hit for seconds. Continuous horsepower (CHP) is what it can sustain for your whole run. Budget treadmills often advertise peak numbers, while running treadmills list continuous ratings, so the two aren’t directly comparable. For regular running, a continuous rating of about 3.0 CHP or more is a good sign.
The real cost of a subscription

Smart treadmills often need a membership for their best features. On the NordicTrack 1750, iFIT Pro costs $39 a month, or about $1,404 over three years, bringing the 1750’s true three-year cost to about $3,400. Treadmills like the Horizon 7.0 AT and 7.4 AT work with apps if you want them, but don’t require a subscription.
Warranty
Look at the motor and parts coverage, not just the frame. The Horizons stand out here with lifetime frame and motor coverage. Budget machines often cover parts for 180 days to 1 year.
Before you buy
- Delivery: most full-size treadmills arrive by freight, often curbside. Have a helper ready.
- Setup and power: unless you pay for assembly (or buy the Sunny), you’ll build it yourself. Plug it straight into a grounded wall outlet, not an extension cord.
- Returns: Amazon usually offers a 30-day return window, but check return shipping first, since bulky items often aren’t free to send back.
- Trials: If a treadmill includes an iFIT trial, set a reminder to cancel if you don’t want it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best treadmill on Amazon?
For most people, the Horizon 7.0 AT. It has a 20″ x 60″ running deck, 12 mph and 15% incline, a 325 lb capacity, lifetime frame and motor coverage, and no required subscription, for about $1,100.
What is the best budget treadmill on Amazon?
The NordicTrack T Series 5, at about $599. It reaches 10 mph and 10% incline and is rated for 300 lb. Its 18″ x 55″ deck suits walking and jogging rather than fast running.
What is the best treadmill for running?
The Horizon 7.4 AT, if you don’t want a subscription: a 22″ x 60″ deck, a 3.5 CHP motor, and a 350 lb capacity. If you want guided classes and decline, the NordicTrack 1750.
What is the best treadmill for heavy people?
For walking, the Wellfit TM029 has the highest rated capacity under $1,000 (500 lb). For running, leave headroom: the Horizon 7.4 AT (rated 350 lb) suits runners up to about 325 lb, and the NordicTrack 1750 (rated 400 lb) suits runners up to about 375 lb. Both have full 22″ x 60″ decks and continuous-duty motors.
Which treadmills don’t need a subscription?
The Horizon 7.0 AT, Horizon 7.4 AT, Sunny SF-T723030, Wellfit TM029, and MERACH W60 don’t require one. The NordicTrack T Series 5 comes with one month of iFIT Train, which auto-renews; if you cancel, the built-in controls still work. The NordicTrack 1750 needs iFIT Pro for its smart features, plus a free iFIT account and Wi-Fi to run.
Is a walking pad as good as a treadmill?
For walking, yes; for running, no. The MERACH W60 tops out at 4 mph with a 41″ belt, so it’s built for daily steps, not jogging or running.
Which treadmill doesn’t need assembly?
The Sunny SF-T723030 arrives fully assembled. You unfold it and start walking.
What does “peak horsepower” mean?
It’s the brief maximum output a motor can reach for seconds. Continuous horsepower (CHP) is what it sustains during a workout, so peak and continuous ratings aren’t directly comparable.
Final verdict
If you’re not sure, get the Horizon 7.0 AT: it’s the best balance of running hardware, warranty, and price. On a tight budget, the NordicTrack T Series 5. If you hate assembly, the Sunny. For high-capacity walking, the Wellfit TM029. Serious runners who don’t want a subscription should get the Horizon 7.4 AT; if guided classes keep you going, the NordicTrack 1750. And if you just want to walk in a small space, the MERACH W60.
Still not sure? Leave a comment with your budget, how you’ll use it, and how much space you have, and I’ll tell you which one I’d pick.
How this list was made

These picks are based on manufacturer specifications and warranty terms, Amazon listing details, owner feedback, and my experience as a NASM-certified personal trainer and Precision Nutrition Level 1 coach. I checked every pick on motor, deck size, weight capacity, warranty, and true cost including subscriptions. Specs and prices were checked on 9th Oct, 2026, and change often; I’ll update this list as models and prices change.
This article is for general information and isn’t medical advice. Talk to your doctor before starting a new exercise program, especially if you have joint or heart concerns.


